Myers-Briggs Type Indicator

The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), based on Jung's theory of psychological type, reports your preferences on four scales. Each scale represents two opposite preferences. The four letters that make up your type can help you understand yourself and your interactions with others.

I am lost, too many types

What Do The Letters Mean?
There are 8 letters that are used, and they make up sixteen possible Myers-Briggs Types. The letters and what they represent are:

E  Extraverion
People who prefer Extraversion tend to focus on the outer world of people and things.


I  Introverion
People who prefer Introversion tend to focus on the inner world of ideas and impressions.

S  Sensing
People who prefer Sensing tend to focus on the present and the concrete information gained from their senses.


N  iNtuition
People who prefer Intuition tend to focus on the future, with a view toward patterns and possibilities.

T  Thinking
People who prefer Thinking tend to base their decisions on logic and objective analysis of cause and effect.


F  Feeling
People who prefer Feeling tend to base their decisions primarily on values and on subjective evaluation of person-centered concerns.

J  Judgement
People who prefer Judgment tend to like a planned and organized approach to life and prefer to have things settled. They are more scheduling with thier activities. J types prefer "the destination" over "the journey".


P  Perception
People who prefer Perception tend to flexible and spontaneous approach to life and things settled. They are less scheduling with their activities and prefer to keep their options open. They are more probing with their activities. "P" types prefer "the journey" over "the destination".

The 16 Myers-Briggs Personality Types
S = Sensing Types - SJ & SP N = iNtuitive Types - NF & NT
analytical gif Drivers Gif
amiables.gif Expressives GIF

What Do The Letters Mean?